• Personal profile
  • News and publications

Personal profile

Jason works in a wide range of design and engineering subject matter, with particular expertise in drafting and prosecution of patent applications concerning electrical power systems, textiles, materials science and graphene technologies before the UK Intellectual Property Office and European Patent Office as well as other national patent offices.

BEng (Hons), PhD, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Patent Attorneys, European Patent Attorney.

His research and industry experience includes: postgraduate research at the University of Birmingham on the use of focused ion beam technology in the manufacture of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) [2001-2005], and involvement as a postdoctoral Research Associate in a DTI/TSB funded project to develop microfluidic flow sensors for a high-throughput micro liquid analyser system [2005-2008].

Jason was awarded the Moss Prize in 2010 for obtaining the highest overall mark in the foundation level patent examination papers.

Examples of clients include:

  • Alstom Grid
  • KLAW Products Limited
  • Gall Thomson Environmental Limited
  • Stretchline Holdings Limited
  • Leiden University


Jason is part of the firm's Asian Business Development Committee, with a focus on China, South Korea and Japan amongst others. He regularly attends IP seminars and business networking events throughout the UK to meet others with interest in developing business relations between Asia and the UK.

  • Hague Agreement ratified by the UK

    Ratification of the Hague Agreement for industrial designs has been completed by the UK in Geneva on 13 March 2018.

  • Engineering YES - 2016 Grand Final

    The eighth national final of Engineering YES was held at Faraday Wharf on the Innovation Birmingham Campus on...

  • Promotions at Potter Clarkson

    Potter Clarkson is delighted to announce that it has promoted a number of their employees with effect from 1 January....

  • Promotions - 2012

    Potter Clarkson is pleased to announce the promotion of Craig Brownlie, David Carling, Joanna Deas, Mark Graham, Tom...